The Society Page
December 1999

AGI Member Society News

AGI Member Society News

A comprehensive listing of news and announcements from the American Geological Institute's 35 member societies.

Change in Officers:

Donald L. Sparks of the University of Delaware began his term as president for the Soil Science Society of America on Nov. 2. Gary Petersen of the Pennsylvania State University became the past president at that time. Robert Luxmoore of Oakridge National Laboratory, Oakridge, Tenn., was elected president-elect earlier this year. John Nicholaides was selected as executive vice president by the society’s executive committees and has been on the board since July.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists elected in November: President Bill Barkhouse, Mobil Exploration & Producing U.S.; President-Elect Sally Zinke, Zinke Geophysical Services; First Vice-President Mike Bahorich, Apache Corporation; Second Vice-President Zhijing (Zee) Wang, Chevron Petroleum Technology Co.; Vice-President Steve Roche, Output Exploration, LLC; Secretary-Treasurer Jack Kruppenbach, Pool Forge Group Inc.; and Editor Chris Liner, University of Tulsa.

In October:

The Association for Women Geoscientists announced the 1999-2000 National AWG Executive Committee and Officers: President Marguerite A. Toscano, National Research Council Post Doctoral Fellow, NOAA, NESDIS (National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service), and ORAD (Oceanic Research and Applications Division); President-Elect Mary Anne Holmes, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Secretary Donna Carlson, Ph.D. candidate at the University of Cincinnati; Treasurer Holly Huyck, Consulting Geologist, Lakewood, Colo.; Editor Joanne Kluessendorf, Research Associate, Department of Geology, University of Illinois; Past President Debra Williams, Principal Planner, City of Austin's Planning and Environmental Conservation Services Department; and Business Manager Karen Spaulding, Association for Women Geoscientists.

The new AWG office address is: P.O. Box 280, Broomfield, CO 80038-0280.
E-mail: <> or visit: <>. The advertising editor is Kata McCarville and the new advertising office address is: AWG Advertising, South Dakota School of Mines, 501 E. St. Joseph Street, Rapid City, SD. 57701. E-mail: The publicist is Pranoti Asher at AWG Publicist, Department of Geology and Geography, Statesboro, Ga. 30460-8149. E-mail: The at-large delegates include: April Abate, Pranoti Asher, and Linda York.

The National Association of State Boards of Geology elected: President John C. Philley, Kentucky Board for the Registration of Professional Geologists; President Elect Frank S. Turek, Arizona State Board of Technical Registration; Secretary Dorian E. Kuper, State of Oregon Board of Geologist Examiners; Treasurer Darrel W. Schmitz, Mississippi State Board of Registered Professional Geologists; Immediate Past President Bekki White, Arkansas State Board of Registration for Geologists. Sam Swinehart continues as executive director.

On the agenda:

Dec. 13-15 From Magmas to Mud (and back), Mineralogical Society Millennium Conference on the generation, diagenesis, metamorphism, and anatexis of mudrocks, University of Reading, United Kingdom. (Dick Merriman, British Geological Survey, Keyworth, Nottingham, NG12 5GG, U.K. Phone: 44 (0)115 936 3417. Fax: 44 (0)115 936 3352. E-mail:

Dec. 13-17 AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco, Calif., by American Geophysical Union. (AGU Meeting Dept., 2000 Florida Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009. Phone: 202/462-6900. Fax: 202/328-0566. E-mail: WWW:

Jan. 24-28 2000 Ocean Sciences Meeting, San Antonio, Texas. (AGU Meetings Dept., 2000 Florida Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009. Phone: 202/462-6900. Fax: 202/328-0566. E-mail: WWW:

Feb. 28-Mar. 1 Society for Mining, Metallurgy, & Exploration, ann. mtg., Salt Lake City, Utah. (Gary Howell, SMME, 8307 Shaffer Pkwy., P.O. Box 625002, Littleton, CO 80162-5002. Phone: 303/948-4210. Fax: 303/973-3845. E-mail: WWW:

Mar. 20-24 Chapman Conference: Space Weather: Progress and Challenges in Research and Applications, Clearwater, Fla. (AGU Meetings Dept., 2000 Florida Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009. Phone: 202/462-6900. Fax: 202/328-0566. E-mail: WWW:



Charles Day Masters, who served as chief of the U.S. Geological Survey’s office of energy resources, died of a brain tumor at his home in Connecticut on Aug. 19. He was 70 years old. His leadership at the survey helped formulate the country’s energy policy initiatives. “Chuck had the foresight to see that a comprehensive global assessment of oil and gas should be one of our major scientific goals,” said Charles G. Groat, director of the U.S. Geological Survey. “Our country and our science are enormously indebted to him for his exceptional contributions.”

Masters directed the first comprehensive national assessment of the undiscovered oil and gas resources for the United States, published in 1975. Later, as chief of the world energy resources project, he focused experts on the global assessment of oil and gas resources and established a precedent for assessments used today by government organizations, policy-makers and industry planners. Masters continued on the project for 15 years until his retirement in 1995.

After serving as an officer in the Navy, Masters obtained his master’s degree in geology from the University of Colorado in 1957 and his Ph.D. in geology from Yale University in 1965. After working five years for the Pan American Petroleum Corp., he became chairman of the division of science and mathematics at West Georgia College in Carrollton, Ga. He began working for U.S. Geological Survey in 1973.

Masters was a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Sigma Xi, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a Fellow of the Geological Society of America. He received the Meritorious Service Award of the Department of the Interior in 1981.

The Society Page was compiled by Christina Reed, associate editor for Geotimes

Geotimes Home | AGI Home | Information Services | Geoscience Education | Public Policy | Programs | Publications | Careers

© 2019 American Geological Institute. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of any of the contents of this service without the express written consent of the American Geological Institute is expressly prohibited. For all electronic copyright requests, visit: