October 1999

News from AGI member societies


The following member societies of
the American Geological Institute elected new officers:

Richard D. Fritz, American Association
of Petroluem Geologists

 The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) named Richard D. Fritz as its new executive director in August. Fritz is president of Masera Corp. in Tulsa, Okla.--- international headquarters for AAPG. His professional experience includes working as a geophysicist with Texaco and as an exploration geologist with Exxon. He was also U.S. project manager for ERICO Inc. in Tulsa before joining Masera. 

In September:
In September, the Association of Earth Science Editors elected: President Marla Adkins-Heljeson, Kansas Geological Survey; Vice-President Richard W. Jones, Wyoming State Geological Survey; Secretary-Treasurer Nancy S. Gilson, New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources; and Past President John R. Keith, U.S. Geological Survey. Directors elected included: O. Evelyn Inglis, Natural Resources Canada; Ellen M. Wolf, retired, Illinois State Geological Survey; and Christie Cooper, Oklahoma Geological Survey.

In October:
The American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists elected: President Fred Rich, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Ga.; Past-President Chris Denison, Chevron Overseas Petroleum, San Ramon, Calif.; President-Elect David Pocknall, BP Amoco, Houston, Texas; Managing Editor David Goodman, Consultant, Anchorage, Ala.; and Secretary-Treasurer Thomas Demchuk, Conoco Inc., Houston, Texas. Elected directors-at-large included: Joyce Lucas-Clark, consultant, Fremont, Calif. and  Robert Cushman Jr., Loma Linda University, Loma Linda, Calif.; Sharma Lynn Gapanoff, Chevron Overseas Petroleum, San Ramon, Calif.; and James Riding, British Geological Survey, Nottingham, England. The Association of Engineering Geologists elected: President Authur Stukey, Harza Engineering Co.; Vice President R. Rexford Upp, Upp Geotechnology Inc.; Treasurer Myles A. Carter, INSPEC-SOL Inc.; Secretary Carol Sweet, Buena Engineers Inc.; and Past President James H. May, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Chris Mathewson continues as executive director. The Geo-Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers elected: President Priscilla P. Nelson, National Science Foundation; Vice President Robert D. Holtz, University of Washington; Treasurer Richard T. Reynolds; and Governors Alan Macnab, Condon-Johnson & Associates and Edward E. Rinne, Kleinfelder, Inc. Carol W. Bowers continues as program manager. Charles Fairhurst and Arlan Rippe continue as governors, John E. Durrant continues as secretary and Harvey Wahls continues as international secretary.
The Geoscience Information Society elected: President Lois Heiser, Indiana University; Vice-President/President-Elect Sharon Tahirkheli, director of Information Services (GeoRef) at the American Geological Institute; and Treasurer April Love, physical sciences librarian at the Science Library of the University of California at Irvine. Shaun Hardy continues as secretary. The National Association of Geoscience Teachers elected: President Jeffrey W. Niemitz, Dickinson College; First Vice-President Steven C. Semken, Navajo Dryland Environments Lab; Second Vice-President Jill Whitman, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma, Wash.; and Past President Gregory R. Wheeler, California State University. Elected councilors-at-large include: Mike Martin, Martin Luther High School, Riverside, Calif.; Leslie Gordon, U.S. Geological Survey; Scott Linneman, Lewis & Clark State College, Lewiston, Idaho; and Whitman (Pete) Cross II, retired, Red Mountain Science Museum, Charlottesville, Va. Robert A. Christman continues as executive director, Sameul F. Huffman continues as secretary-treasurer, and Yildirim Dilek and Keith A. McKain continue as councilors-at-large.
The Society of Vertebrate Paleontology elected: President John Flynn, Field Musuem of Natural History; Vice-President Richard Stucky, Denver Museum of Natural History; Secretary Catherine Badgley, Museum of Paleontology, University of Michigan; and Treasurer Dale Winkler, Shuler Museum of Paleontology, Southern Methodist University.

News from AGI member societies

Next month: Geotimes Features a New Member Society Section
This section will feature news and announcements from the 34 geoscience societies that are members of the American Geological Institute.  To post news, send e-mail to <> with the subject Member Society Page, or send mail to Geotimes, Attention Member Society Page Editor, 4220 King St., Alexandria, VA 22303.


Charles Davis Hollister, a world-renowned marine geologist who expanded the knowledge of strong deep-sea currents and initiated the field of sediment dynamics, died Aug. 23 from head injuries after a fall while on a hiking vacation with his family. He was 63.

Hollister was the corporate vice president and senior scientist in the geology and geophysics department at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. “As a scientist he pioneered the field of deep-sea sediment dynamics and made us look at mud on the deep sea floor in a different way,” said Robert Gagosian, director of Woods Hole.

Hollister was among the first oceanographers to realize benthic storms swept across areas of the ocean floor as strong currents, disrupting what were long thought as tranquil depths. He documented the storms and measured their strengths during the high-energy benthic boundary layer experiment, which he organized in the 1970s.

An avid mountain climber, Hollister climbed peaks across the country, including Mount McKinley in 1962. He climbed five of Antarctica’s highest peaks, earning the National Geographic Society’s John Oliver La Gorce Medal in 1967. That same year he graduated with his doctorate in geology from Columbia University and joined the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. He later served as dean of graduate studies at Woods Hole for 10 years before becoming corporate vice president in 1989.

Geotimes Home | AGI Home | Information Services | Geoscience Education | Public Policy | Programs | Publications | Careers

© 2021 American Geological Institute. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of any of the contents of this service without the express written consent of the American Geological Institute is expressly prohibited. For all electronic copyright requests, visit: