IAN MACGREGOR and ROBERT W. RIDKY have both taken new positions within the National Science Foundation (NSF). MacGregor has been appointed director of the Earth Sciences Division. Ridky has become program director for geosciences in the Division of Undergraduate Education, replacing DAVID W. MOGK, who returned to his position as professor of earth sciences at Montana State University in September.
MacGregor, who was formerly a professor of geology at the University of California at Davis, earned a masters degree from Queen's University in Ontario and completed his Ph.D. studies in geology at Princeton University. His professional experience includes fellowships with the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington in Washington, D.C., and with the Southwest Center for Advanced Study in Dallas, Texas.
MacGregor's research has focused on upper mantle petrology and geochemistry. He also helped develop the Deep Sea Drilling Project at NSF and worked with the Apollo space program.
Ridky, who is on leave from his professorship in the geology department at the University of Maryland, has been a member of the American Geological Institute's (AGI) Education Advisory Committee and has chaired numerous educational projects for the institute. He is a past president of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers and a member of the Maryland State Geological Survey Commission. Ridky recently served on the National Science Education Standards Curriculum Committee of the National Academy of Sciences.
Other recent NSF appointments of interest to the geoscience community include: DONALD L. ELTHON, associate director for the Marine Geology and Geophysics Program in the Division of Ocean Sciences, and SONIA ESPERANCA, director for the Petrology and Geochemistry Program in the Division of Earth Sciences.

DONALD F. OLTZ JR. has become state geologist and oil and gas supervisor for the Geological Survey of Alabama and the State Oil and Gas Board. Oltz earned a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1968 and later worked for Texaco, Inc. as an exploration geologist on domestic and international projects. In 1985, he joined the Illinois State Geological Survey as head of the oil and gas section. He became group head for energy and mineral resources in 1993; earlier this year, he also assumed responsibility for the survey's engineering geology and environmental site assessment programs. Oltz serves on the Advisory Council of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and chairs the Research Committee of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission.

PETER COOK received the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 1996 Queen's Birthday Honours List. Cook, who is director of the British Geological Survey, was recognized for his contributions to science and industry.

RICHARD J. MCCARTHY has been named executive director of the California Seismic Safety Commission. He served as the commission's senior engineering geologist for over six years before becoming acting director last year. McCarthy is a certified engineering geologist, a registered geologist, and a certified petroleum geologist.

New members of the National Research Council's Water Science and Technology Board include CHARLES HOWARD, Charles Howard & Associates, and EVILLE GORHAM, University of Minnesota. WILLIAM LEWIS, University of Colorado, Boulder, and CHARLES O'MELIA, The Johns Hopkins University, were reappointed to the board, which is chaired by DAVID L. FREYBERG, Stanford University.

AGI presents awards, inducts officers
The American Geological Institute presented its most prestigious award, the Ian Campbell Medal, to ROBERT R. JORDAN, on Oct. 29, at the annual meeting of the Geological Society of America in Denver. Jordan has served as state geologist of Delaware since 1968 and is a professor of geology at the University of Delaware.

"In his nearly four decades at Delaware, Bob Jordan has ... developed an effective and scientifically respected state geological survey," stated citationist William L. Fisher. "He has brought to teaching those indispensable qualities of intellect, dedication, and inspiration. His indefatigable work for several of our national geological societies is as distinguished as it is pervasive."
Jordan represents the state of Delaware to several federal agencies and bodies, including the Outer Continental Shelf Policy Committee of the Interior Department, which he chaired in 1992 and 1993. He sits on three- dozen boards, commissions, and committees for local, state, and federal agencies and national scientific and professional organizations.
At the awards ceremony, JOHN D. HAUN, former president of the institute, was named recipient of the Heroy Award for Distinguished Service to AGI. BRADFORD WASHBURN, honorary director of Boston's Museum of Science, received the 1996 Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Public Understanding of Geology.
Haun, who served as president of AGI in 1982, is a former professor of geology at the Colorado School of Mines and the recipient of numerous awards for his service to the geosciences and its professional societies. Haun was president of the American Institute of Professional Geologists and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.
Washburn was director of the Museum of Science in Boston from 1939 to 1980 and was elected honorary director for life in 1985. Although his career has focused primarily on founding and building the Museum of Science into one of the nation's leading museums, Washburn is also a noted cartographer and photographer and is an expert on Mount Everest and Alaska's mountains and glaciers.
Each year, AGI honors outstanding members of the geoscience profession and pays tribute to the many professional volunteers and supporters who contribute to the success of the institute's programs.
AGI also inducted its 1997 Executive Committee on Oct. 29. Members include: President EDWARD C. ROY JR., Trinity University; President-Elect SUSAN LANDON, Thomasson Partner Associates; Secretary M. CHARLES GILBERT, University of Oklahoma; Treasurer DONALD A. HULL, Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries; Members-at-Large RUSSELL G. SLAYBACK, Leggette, Brashears, and Graham Inc. and STEVEN M. STANLEY, The Johns Hopkins University; Past President ROBERT D. HATCHER JR., University of Tennessee; AGI Foundation Chairman THOMAS M. HAMILTON, Pennzoil Company; and Executive Director MARCUS E. MILLING.
The institute's new president, Edward Roy, is presently a professor of geology and vice president for academic affairs at Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas. After earning a Ph.D. in geology from Ohio State University, he worked for the Shell Oil Company on the Gulf Coast until 1966, when he joined the faculty at Trinity. His research interests include paleontology, paleoecology, biostratigraphy, and sedimentology.
Roy has served on numerous committees of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology), and AGI. He is a member of the Board on Earth Sciences and Resources and the Committee on Women in Science and Engineering of the National Research Council.

November Geotimes | Geotimes Home Page | AGI Home Page | Education | GeoRef | Gov. Affairs